Skip to content

Who needs spare parts when you can make your own?

June 29, 2007

The building of my Ground Gundam has come to a halt thanks to a series of things. First the heat, my modeling room is not air conditioned and lately it’s been next to impossible to sit there for more than 30 seconds. Second, too many things to do around the house, well they need to get done so no way around that. Third, spare parts. I am trying to build this model with a few extra details to make it more realistic and one of those is adding some search lights. I tried scratchbuilding the fixture with plastic card but not only is it too small, I don’t have good enough tools to cut the parts with the precision needed. I asked some of the guys from my modeling club for spare parts, but while waiting I said, well why not just design this on the computer? Since I work with Solidworks, I decided to design the fixtures (took 5 minutes) and used the 3D Zcorp printer at work (parts are printing as I type). Hopefully I will have a successful update soon.

Solidworks screenshot:

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 29, 2007 10:08 am

    Looks good. I can’t wait to see more progress.

Leave a Reply

