Skip to content

New project: Tiger I Ausf. E Late version.

March 24, 2008

I started a new 1/72 kit before this one, it was a T-72AV from ACE that I was going to enter in a theme contest my local club is putting together. That came to a halt because the ACE kit is of really bad quality (no I am not one of those modelers that likes to fix everything, I came to the conclusion I am more of a painter than a builder). While I wait for a Revell kit to use as base for a conversion I started my first 1/35 build. The kit of choice is a rather old Tamiya kit of the Tiger I late version. It has individual link tracks, so this is practice before I put together a much newer Panther G Late from Dragon I have lying around, which also has indy links. The Tiger kit was bought conveniently at a club meeting and it came with Cavalier zimmerit included, not a bad deal!

Ok, for now only two pics. I have put the wheels together and following some very informative tutorials online I have finished both track runs. The indy links have ejection pin marks that I didn’t fill, partly because this is only a practice kit and mostly because that’d be tedious enough to make me put the kit away. Maybe it is beginner’s luck or the fact that 1/72 scale trained me to deal with very small parts, but this was very easy.

I have also used the resin zimmerit set on the lower hull, very easy to use although the fit is not that great.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 24, 2008 10:11 am

    Indy links in any scale sounds like a nightmare. So far, so good. 1/35 is a fun scale. I used to build it years ago. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

