Skip to content

WIP: Macross VF-1S Valkyrie

September 1, 2008

So if you look at this kit it seems fairly simple. The instructions show 16 steps and the part count is low. Then you find out construction is slow. There are a lot of ejection pin holes to fill and it seems almost every seam needs filling and sanding (I am disappointed in Hasegawa to be honest). Anyway, I managed to put together the booster assemblies, for which I had to paint the boosters themselves before hand. I followed the techniques on this article, although they didn’t come out as well (first timer here). I used only Tamiya acrylics though, no Alcad. Some in-progress pics:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2008 2:11 pm

    I’m disappointed what what you’re saying here. I had hoped Hasegawa would’ve made a better kit of it. I suppose you’re still better off with this than the old kits from the 80’s that were completely inaccurate. At least with a little work this will look nice, nothing could make the old ones look good easily. We’re talking serious major conversion / accurizing.

  2. September 3, 2008 10:09 am

    I have never tried on the old Bandai or Arii kits, but I have never heard anything good about them. I was expecting more from Hasegawa, but I will give them the benefit of the doubt, as this kit should be one of the older molds they have.

  3. Fernando permalink
    December 20, 2008 11:13 am

    hello, im looking for views and details to model a vf-1s and its almost impossible… can anyone help me?

Leave a Reply

