Skip to content

Side Project: MaK. Prowler

March 8, 2009

I have finally become one of those modelers that can’t work on a single project at a time, it took me a while but I am finally there. After finishing the Hellhound I felt a bit burnt out, it had to do with the fact that for the first time I gave myself a deadline and finished the helo for a show at the Museum of Flight. Big mistake. This is a hobby, not a job, it killed the fun and I didn’t touch the workbench for about 2 weeks. While on workbench break I kept going through my MaK. modeling book, of which sadly I can’t read a thing since it’s all in japanese. I have been a fan of MaK. for a while, since it mixes my two favorite subjects in modeling, sci-fi and WWII armor. The kits are somewhat hard to find, given that they have been OOP for a while, which makes them quite pricey for what you actually get. Hopefully with Hasegawa picking up the line the flow of kits will be more steady, I wish they re release most of the old stuff, but I had an original Nitto 1/20 scale release of one of the suits in the MaK. world, the Prowler, which I got for $10 at an IPMS meeting back in Brooklyn. I went back to the workbench and started to build it (later found out this kit is worth about $60, or so I read). The mold shows it age with less than perfect fit (I have been spoiled by Dragon and Bandai), so there’s some filling and sanding. Building is close to being completed since this is a small kit, if I don’t get any crazy ideas and build it out of the box. Then the fun can start with painting.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 8, 2009 10:47 pm

    These are fun kits. I have a stack and hope to build them someday. Resin ones too! The possibilites are endless!

Leave a Reply

